Social Support networks

I’ve done a good job of cutting off my social life for the last few months. I just haven’t wanted to see, or talk to any one. I have a huge list of reasons why. Mostly, people suck. If you don’t have clear boundaries, and ensure that people treat you right, they won’t. It’s alot of work for me.

However, people have there good points as well. After a long time in social isolation, I’m now texting, messaging and even talking on the phone. They are willing to provide all kinds of emotional support, and even just being nice to me is awesome. I’ve spent the past few years building a good social network. It’s still not what I’d like it to be, but the people in it are really, really good.

So, what’s the point? You need friends. They are going to make your life better. They do take work, and if they are the kind you need, they will give it back to you when you need it. I can’t really say how much good the people in my life have been. Not everyone is there forever, but alot of them are going to be, or at least I hope that they are going to be.

Leave a Reply

